City Market Experience

“The best way to appreciate your job is to imagine yourself without one.”

I understood what that means when I visited the Bangalore City Market today.

I left house at 9 in the morning and headed towards K.R. Market [the Bangalore City Market]. There are lots of direct buses to the place and it was not at all difficult in terms of travelling. I had to meet Joel there by 9.40 for a TOI project [yeah..whatever, chuck]. I reached there before him and was waiting, while lots of freaky things happened around me. One advice to you- if you are coming to Bangalore, don’t ever visit this place just for the ‘heck of it’. Unless you are haunting for some good deep Indian portraits [or if you want to buy 10 gerberas for just 2 bucks]. We walked towards the flower market and shot everything on the way. I realized that street photography is not my thing AT ALL. Out of 84 shots that I took, I think not even 2 of them came close to me liking it..

The inside of the city market is hell lot of spooky. But people [mostly traders] there are real friendly and will show you around. There were a group of kids who were so excited when they saw us with cameras. They made us shoot them with their mom, dad, aunts and uncles and everyone :-\ There was SO much activity inside the place that we were just lost. There were pots, vegetables, fruits, bags, spices, flowers, coconuts, seeds, etc. They sell all this in whole sale and this is the main place from where the other shop keepers from all over the city buy stuff from. So you-get-the-idea.

We wanted to go to the “rose market” from there but found out that it closes before 9 am. So we walked all the way on the fly over [it was exhausting] and took city shots from the high view. Ofcourse, I ended up with only lamp posts on the fly over [I find them really fascinating even now..]. We walked around 4 kms only on the fly over. What kind of a sane person does that?? But twas fun, I admit! We could see a lot of activity happening in the market from the fly over.

I’ve started to understand what some things in life mean. My father is right- “the more you travel, the more you learn”. And its not just about us. Its about the place we live in, the kind of people there are, the kind of lives they live, the activity that happens around the city, the conditions that you get exposed to… The “rush of life” that you experience when you visit such places is really something. You realize that its not just about the malls and the multiplexes. There is something more to it all.

Leave a Reply

