a random life update that i hope will help me put things into perspective.

Ok, so where do I begin? It has been 3 weeks since college reopened and it seems like forever already. It was exciting at first, and I was really looking forward to some of the courses we have this semester (like bioinformatics and genetic engineering) but the classes have turned out to be another set of the have-a-blank-face-and-disappear-into-dreamland kind. The only course that I am still enthusiastic about is the 2 credit special topic subject. Each one of us gets to pick up a topic and carry out an extensive research by reading different journals and publications. In the end, there is going to be a presentation in front of an external examiner and we are even asked to write a critic report on one of the papers. I chose the topic “Human-machine interface” as I’m looking out for more opportunities in the inter-disciplinary fields for the future. It’s a non-pure biology subject and needs to have equal knowledge about technology and biology. More on this topic later, as I wish to write about brain-computer interfaces (with references to the movie matrix of course :P) and etcetera.

I began reading ‘The selfish gene‘ by Richard Dawkins and have started to feel the early signs of depression for my/general human existence. We are all machines driven by selfish genes after-all! I was heavily influenced and intrigued by Dawkins’ talks and lectures a couple of months back. Though I am not an atheist or anything, I find his ideologies and theories quite brave and acceptable in today’s times. It is one thing to have faith in a super power (or in yourself) and a different thing to place yourself in a religious category to satisfy society. After reading a couple of chapters, I find evolutionary biologists leading quite a mysterious life-on-the -edge where half of the world perceives you to be non-existent. Talking about scientific writing, I have come across a number of frequently updated interesting science blogs whose links I’ve put up on my blogroll.

Coming to the other part of my life – photography/art. Okay, I’ve attended WAY too many photo walks in the last month that I’ve now lost track of all the images in different memory cards. After the Avenue Road shoot, I went to Srirangapatna along with my BPW friends. It was one whole day of exploration of the small town along with history lessons. More on that later. Next, there was a photo walk in lalbagh (yes, again) with the folks from PIXELS, the photography club of my college. Then there was the KR Market shoot (yes, again!) with the same folks again – this time, along with the juniors! The thing is, every time I go with a different set of people so it’s quite difficult to refuse to them! Ugh. Anyway, it was all fun and every time I visit the same place, I find something new and end up have a completely different experience.

Delhi vs Bangalore is steadily progressing. Nidhi and I have very interesting conversations and I’ve realized that we actually have a lot of things in common. Not the 2 cities, but us too! We have many posts lined up for the future and are constantly exploring different ideas and ways to make it more interesting. It is not a very hard-core photography project. It is about the 2 cities and more importantly, it is about how we – the 2 girls – perceive it to be. The best part about it is that we are learning so much from each other – behind the scene – than what we are offering the viewers.

Issue 7 of START is in progress. It was supposed to be out last month, but due to my traveling and busy schedule, it’s scheduled to be released on/by September 20’th. This time, there is some exciting news about the magazine!! I’m not sure if Im allowed to reveal everything, but let me just say this – I am not the only person working on it this time! Let’s see how everything goes, I have my fingers crossed. Also, the early stages of entrepreneurship has a fair share of fear & excitement. I’m nervous and sometimes question my decisions. At the same time, I don’t want to play safe all the time and not know how it feels to be taking risks in life. 10 years from now, I don’t want to sit in a cubicle in an air conditioned office, with a 9 to 5 job-and ask myself – “what if i had..?

12 thoughts on “a random life update that i hope will help me put things into perspective.

  1. Hey!! Been following ur work for quite some time now.. Your photos are great and refreshing.. Even the START magazine, You are doing great work… all the best for that.. :)

  2. Many congratulations for the magazine. If it becomes big someday, I’ll take heart in the fact that I was there in the first ever issue. :P

    Anyways, good luck with all of your projects, and college. And take care.

  3. I can understand the last bit. I am working my ass off right now, so that I can build something substantial for the future. Easier to enjoy it as well. One day, I woke up and decided it was all nice to depressed and poetic, but there is more to life :)

  4. Hi Priya,

    Nice post! Brings back memories- Cant seem to recollect a single Bioinformatics class when I didnt drift away into dreamland. :)

    I should get to reading Selfish gene- its been lying in my cupboard for over a year now, because Murakami and Huxley took up my reading time.

    Starting off a new venture is an exciting time – and I do hope that it you have the energy to stick with it through the thick and thin. There are VC’s and Angel Investors/ Mentors who can fund your idea and provide you with guidance on running an organization.

    I would recommend that you read Rashmi Bansal’s books- especially – this one called Connect the dots- http://bookreviews.bookrack.in/2010/06/connect-dots.html

    All the very best!

Leave a Reply

