Just a little update.

Fifth semester ended on Friday and life has been quite nice since then. I watched a couple of movies, roamed around the city, bought books to read and even took photographs! Today is Christmas and I’m sitting in my room writing this blog instead of going out with my friends or cousins. All the plans got canceled at the last minute i.e., today morning :-| Why does this always happen to me? Ugh. I’m guessing even New Year will turn out similarly and I’ll end up watching some television series till 4am without realizing when the date changed to Jan 1st 2012. Just.like.every.single.year.

Anyway, this blog got a lot of readers due to my previous post and now I’m suddenly embarrassed to write about stuff here. There was a time when no one from my real life read this blog and now, suddenly people in college come up to me asking about it. So awkward. College resumed normally after the incident and the exams went well too. My project topic /presentation was a bore to the external examiner I guess (the negatives of taking up a computer science topic and explaining it to a biology professor). But my guide is supporting me in taking it up even in the next semester and that is what matters.

I’ve got a huge writer’s block currently. I try so hard to write something. Anything. But it just doesn’t happen like before. Any help or suggestions for this problem? :(

5 thoughts on “Just a little update.

  1. I find a lot of stuff to write about. :D I spotted a quote that was featured in the WordPress.com sidebar after publishing a post. The quote says,

    My ideas usually don’t come at my writing desk, but in the midst of living.

    I noticed it just a few days ago, but has been true for me since I first started blogging.

    • Thats a brilliant quote. Very true too. I keep making these lines in my head during the course of the day…but never end up writing / typing them down when I get back.

      • That’s why you need to always keep a notebook and pen with you to write down ideas. Sounds odd, I know,. But it works. Or you can just type it on your cellphone and save it as a draft sms. I do that often.

  2. I try and concentrate on these two quotes when I am having trouble writing, “You do not need to leave your room. Remain sitting at your table and listen. Do not even listen, simply wait, be quiet, still and solitary. The world will freely offer itself to you to be unmasked, it has no choice, it will roll in ecstasy at your feet. -Franz Kafka” and, “All you have to do is write one true sentence. Write the truest sentence that you know. -Ernest Hemingway.”

    They do not work always, (like they have not been working for the last few days for me.) But, that philosophy works for me more often than not. When, they do not work, you just need to rest a little, use that time to read something challenging, and sooner or later- the urge to create comes back.

    As for the problems you are facing due to having gone viral- you have my full empathy. I faced it with a rant on CB (It was not even well thought-out), and even till now people associate my blog with CB. (Pissing off.)

    Finally, you are not the only one facing a mundane new year’s eve. The universe will compensate you by something else. :)

Leave a Reply

