What’s my forte?

Have you ever felt like you are so confused with yourself that you need to catch hold of every opportunity that comes your way and experiment with different things simultaneously? This is exactly my life at the moment. The problem with me is I get into a lot of things, with enthusiasm at first and eagerness to know what the outcome is going to be. I’m not complaining. Some of the best things that have happened to me so far have been a result of this random experimentation.

When I walked into the college gates on the first day, I was a confident person and was pretty clear about the decisions that I’d made in the past couple of months that year. Now, after four years, I find myself lost again, unsure of which path to take. I’ve met people who’ve always been focussed about what they expect from life. People who can see themselves working at a specific company or studying at a particular university five years down the line. I’ve grown up with such people from high school. Sometimes I feel all the freedom that I’ve received, like the freedom to choose whichever field to pursue, etc, has left me spoilt for choices. Maybe the best thing to do right now is to not over-think things and just dive into an uncertain future. An exciting future filled with infinite number of possibilities!

7 thoughts on “What’s my forte?

  1. Having a few choices is good. You can differentiate between the paths ahead of you better. The bad part of this is, your brain will go on an overdrive whenever you have to take a decision. But the good part is, you develop a keen eye for the finer aspects while taking any decisions. But I’m afraid that its not something that happens over a year or two. I am starting to wonder if it will ever cease to happen. But of course, letting it happen is also your choice. (It will be exciting though ;-) )

  2. Still the floating dart eh?
    There is a long way to go and I think experimenting now is a good idea. Later in life you will have a lot more constraints!

  3. Why is it so important to have one forte? we’re humans, not bugs. [stolen line btw]
    but i guess you get the gist :P
    You can, and have been an engineer, and a writer, and a photographer, and an editor, and a daughter, and a grand daughter, and a friend, and a student, and a TA, and i don’t know what else
    why do have to choose one? you can excel at all of them

Leave a Reply

